Wish Upon a Necklace

24 05 2010
I never thought much about superstitions until recently. The more I consider the idea the more I come to the realization that each person has their own individual superstitions that help them get through the day. Whether it is a simple good luck charm or something more involved like a ritual I believe that we all create ways to get us through the obstacles life throws our way.

Last year I studied abroad in Rome, Italy and one of my favorite places to visit was the Trevi Fountain. Its beautiful and magnificent architecture paired with the clear blue water running through it was so peaceful and serene. But of course that was tainted when it was always crowded with tourists trying to find a good spot for throwing their coins. An estimated 3,000 euros are thrown into the fountain each day! That’s a lot of wishing and hoping. Traditional legend holds that if visitors throw a coin into the fountain they are ensured a return to Rome. I visited Rome the summer after my Freshman year in college while on vacation for my parent’s 25th anniversary , threw a coin in to the fountain, and then returned my junior year when I studied abroad so I guess the legend must be true. Apparently, throwing two coins into the fountain will lead to a new romance and three coins will ensure either a marriage or divorce. I guess 50/50 odds aren’t so bad. There is also a special way to throw the coin. If you ever find yourself at the Trevi Fountain, which I highly recommend, be sure to throw the coins with your right hand over your left shoulder  — or your wish may not come true!

Recently I received a necklace as a graduation gift from my family. It contains diamonds from my great-grandmother and I absolutely cherish it. The chain, though, is a bit stubborn and does not like to stay in its place. More often than not, the clasp ends up in the front of my neck instead of the back where it belongs. Fortunately for me, this means that I have been able to make a lot of wishes lately. See, a superstition I have always believed in is that if the clasp of your necklace finds its way to the front of your neck, you are to make a wish while putting it back in its place. Needless to say, I have been making more than my share of wishes lately. I can not tell you what they are since obviously then they would not come true, but let’s just say that I’m an unemployed college graduate. . . You can probably figure the majority of them out. But with all my wishes I have not been selfish either. Having to make wishes so often has reminded me to share the wealth. So don’t worry – family, friends, endangered animals, impoverished countries — I’ve got you covered too.

Whatever you do, whether it’s wishing on a necklace, a star, an eyelash, throwing a coin into a fountain or all of the above I think its important to have a dream and go for it. Just don’t rely all on your wishes coming true. You have to go out and make some things happen for yourself because I am not only a believer in wishing upon necklaces, I also believe that hard work pays off. Someday cheaters will be found out and liars will get caught but my parents always taught me that if you work hard enough your work will eventually get you to where you want to be.

The Trevi Fountain

My Necklace

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

