Born a Bookworm

28 06 2010

At the ripe age of four I was what some might call an advanced reader. One evening I amazed my family when I picked up Go Dog Go by Dr. Suess – a classic choice. Instead of the usual routine of mother-reading-to-toddler before bedtime, I reversed the roles and read the book to my mom, cover to cover. That night sparked a love for reading and imagination in me that never burned out.

I used to sneak books into the “Time Out” corner of my room with me on those rare occasions that I got into trouble. Once I was caught and I don’t think my parents knew what to do with me. Should they punish me further for not listening to them or praise me for making productive use out of my time there? I’m pretty sure I got the book taken from me.

Since my days with Dr. Seuss I have moved on to bigger and more complex works of fiction. For my fourth grade book report I immersed myself in the adventures of C.S. Lewis’s The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe, in high school I battled the Cyclops with Odysseus and I learned the tragic trials and tribulations of young love in Jodi Picoult’s The Pact.

While I took many interesting classes throughout college, furthering my appetite for exceptional literature, my heavy workload left little time for outside reading. I mostly read books that were required for class and found my reading wish list growing long and outdated. Before I got a chance to finish a book the movie version was premiering, and I’m a firm believer in reading the book before seeing its on-screen counterpart.

This summer I am getting a chance to catch up on some reading of my own desire. I am extremely excited because I got an Amazon Kindle for my birthday this year and I will finally be putting it to good use!

Feel free to leave any comments on the following books or add any suggestions on any good books you have read lately! Please – no spoilers though !

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

If You Have to Cry, Go Outside by Kelly Cutrone

Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea by Chelsea Handler

Chelsea, Chelsea Bang, Bang by Chelsea Handler

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay

Dearly Devoted Dexter by Jeff Lindsay

Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult

House Rules by Jodi Picoult

Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani

Actions

Information

One response

3 01 2011
Kristin

i can give you the girl with the dragon tattoo, hunger games, and if you have to cry go outside little girl. lets have a book trade soon… slash start a book club?

Leave a Reply

