Retail Blues

12 07 2010

In order to save up some money for my inevitable future, I decided to return to my old job from high school for a bit. So I’ve been working in retail until I find a more permanent career opportunity. While getting my first paycheck was exciting, I have yet to decide whether the juice was worth the squeeze.

Standing for eight hours straight is no picnic, let me tell you. I have yet to find one pair of shoes that rubs me the right way. I am currently wearing a total of five blister band-aids on my feet. My shoes are so evil that they even managed to tear through the band-aids in order to continue irritating my blisters. I had to go to Walgreens last night to buy more, because I had used up all the ones in our house. The toughest part was deciding whether it was worth it to stand in line at the register for five minutes just to get them.

Even worse, I’ve become isolated in my retail bubble. I don’t even remember the last time I saw my friends. I barely even see my parents and we live in the same house. I used to have sleeping issues. I’ve even been prescribed medication for them. I wouldn’t fall asleep before at least 2 a.m. Now, forget about it. I’m out like a light within 20 minutes of walking in the door. Once I get home I just can’t keep my eyes open. I feel so boring, but I can’t help it. Between putting on a smile for the customers, feeling pressure from my manager and working ridiculously long hours I come home exhausted every day. I even began dreaming about the workplace. So now it truly feels like I never leave.

The best part of working retail is obviously the great discounts. Unfortunately I have been so busy working that I have yet to take full advantage of mine. I do get some percentage taken off my lunch everyday, however, which is nice. A girl’s gotta eat.

My hours should be slowing down in the upcoming weeks. Hopefully the economy will get better, as well, and I will get a job in the industry that I actually went to four years of school for. So now I’m going to go spend  the rest of my day off resting my feet and applying to some more jobs.

Until next time. . .

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

