New Grad, New Priorities . . . New Me

24 10 2010

My priorities have completely changed and I’ve only been a college graduate for six months. Where my biggest concern used to be which fraternity our sorority’s next mixer was with, or if I was going to be able to get a table at the library, nowadays I’m more worried about if I remembered to set my DVR to record all of my favorite television shows. I barely even watched TV in my four years at Pitt and now I have a bevy of shows each night that are a “must-see”.

Instead of going out 3-4 nights a week I am interning 3 days a week and going to class 3 nights a week. Sunday through Thursday I am staying at my sister’s place in New York City and Friday through Sunday I usually come back to New Jersey to stay with my parents. I practically live out of a suitcase. I have also been picking up some odd jobs here and there to make some extra money on the side. Between work, class, homework, and the sleep I try to fit in between, I am lucky if I get to go out one night a week anymore. But I finally have something I am working toward and after four years of partying and no worries I feel that I have no right to complain.

In just six months I have gone from a care-free college student to a woman on a mission. Sometimes I don’t even recognize myself. But then I do something like take the wrong subway, end up in Queens, and I am once again reminded of the long way I still have to go.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

