Peace Out 2010

29 12 2010

As I reflect on the past year, I can’t help but think 2010 was nothing but a disappointment. Forgive my pessimism. I know New Year’s Eve is supposed to be one big celebration, a goodbye to a year well spent and the hope for an even better one. But after the year I’ve experienced, I can’t help but think is it all downhill from here?

When I was a little girl and I imagined 2010, I pictured flying cars and a robot BFF. Instead what I got was a graduation that forced me to leave college, no job, and a ruptured stomach. I don’t even have a car, let alone a flying one—I still have to ask my parents to borrow theirs. And all of my BFFs, they’re scattered about in different cities and states. We barely get to see each other and are forced to keep in touch through superficial means like texting, face-booking, and twittering.

Rather than finding intelligent life on other planets, we have found Google. Everyone’s answer to life’s simplest questions are answered with, “Just Google it.” Once I’d like someone to actually give me a real answer. Oh, and with 2010 we now have TV commercials in movie theaters. What a revelation!

Lately I have come to wonder why New Years Eve is made out to be such a celebration. Is everyone desperately clinging to the hope that next year will be so much better than the last?  And why does everybody make such a big deal about what their New Year’s plans will be? Is it really all that important?

What are your New Year’s plans? And how long have you known what you are going to do? I think I’m going to protest New Year’s Eve this year and do nothing. How ’bout that?

So long 2010, you haven’t been that good to me. 2011, I hope we can be friends, because frankly . . . I have high hopes for you.

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 12 2010
mom

Happy New Year Stacy! Good riddens to 2010…2011 will be grrrreat!!!

I just know it!

Love, Mom

5 01 2011
David

“Hope springs eternal” has a nice ring to it because it hugs the future with dreams of everything being better in just a little while. I think family is big, friends necessary, and future acqaintances really important….and that’s how the newest years can be cooler ones if we strive to be better family members, the best of friends, and wide open to the glory that new things and people can bring. One boy’s opinion. As for your blogposts, there is nothing but unbridled love for ’em from these eyes.

Leave a Reply

